Critical Moment for Canadian Indigenous/settler Relations!

 

Praying our Government Will Pass Bill C-262 on February 7!

This coming  Wednesday, February 7 is critical to resetting Canadian Indigenous/settler relations and will speak volumes about what is true of our collective resolve to move past wounding relationships to mutually flourishing ones.

Below you will find information and instructions (from the Adopt and Implement campaign) on how to lend your voice to this historic opportunity for Canada to take a significant leap forward.

Let’s do this! It’s time.

– SB


 

Bill C-262 will ensure that the rights of Indigenous peoples are enshrined in Canadian law according to the principles of the UN Declaration of Indigenous Peoples. The second hour of debate on Bill C-262 takes place on February 5, 2018, and the vote follows on February 7.

It is important, over the next days, to keep the pressure on and encourage all MPs to vote for Bill C-262, especially Liberal MPs (who currently form the government).

We need you to take part in this ongoing campaign in these important ways.

1. Send an email to all 183 Liberal MPs

  • Sample message and email addresses are below.  Addresses include the Honourable Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs; the Honourable Jane Philpott, Minister of Indigenous Services; and the Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada.
  • Let them know you are watching and you want them to vote for Bill C-262!

2. Follow the debate

  • Attend the House of Commons hearings in Ottawa. Debate is scheduled for February 5 at 11:00 a.m. EST. The vote will take place on February 7 after 5:30. OR…
  • Watch the talk on the internet at the same times. http://www.cpac.ca/en/programs/house-of-commons/

Sample message:

Greetings,

I am one of hundreds of other Canadians who will be watching the vote on second reading of Private Member’s Bill C-262: The Indigenous Human Rights Act. I applaud the Government of Canada for its stated commitment to support Bill C-262 and the full adoption and implementation of the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. We are eagerly watching for you to fulfill this promise.

Sincerely,

[ insert name and address]

How to send the message:

  1. In the (To) field of your email message, write “Undisclosed recipients,” followed by your own email address in brackets, like this: Undisclosed recipients-<JohnDoe@gmail.com>
  2. In the BCC field, copy and paste all the email addresses below. (Do not use the CC field).
  3. In the Subject field, write this, “Bill C-262: We’re watching you on February 7!”
  4. In the Text field, copy and paste the text of the message.
  5. Please remember to sign the email with your name and address.

 

Liberal MP emails addresses:

note: some are reporting trouble sending an email to the list below. Some email servers won’t send this many at once. If you are having trouble, break the list below roughly into thirds and send three emails.  It’s a bit more work… but only a bit. 🙂

John.Aldag@parl.gc.ca, Omar.Alghabra@parl.gc.ca, Leona.Alleslev@parl.gc.ca, William.Amos@parl.gc.ca, Gary.Anand@parl.gc.ca, Rene.Arseneault@parl.gc.ca, Chandra.Arya@parl.gc.ca, Ramez.Ayoub@parl.gc.ca, Vance.Badawey@parl.gc.ca, Celina.Caesar-Chavannes@parl.gc.ca, Larry.Bagnell@parl.gc.ca, Navdeep.Bains@parl.gc.ca, Frank.Baylis@parl.gc.ca, Terry.Beech@parl.gc.ca, carolyn.bennett@parl.gc.ca, Karina.Gould@parl.gc.ca, Marie-Claude.Bibeau@parl.gc.ca, Chris.Bittle@parl.gc.ca, Bill.Blair@parl.gc.ca, Randy.Boissonnault@parl.gc.ca, Mike.Bossio@parl.gc.ca, Bob.Bratina@parl.gc.ca, Pierre.Breton@parl.gc.ca, scott.brison@parl.gc.ca, Jim.Carr@parl.gc.ca, Bill.Casey@parl.gc.ca, Sean.Casey@parl.gc.ca, Greg.Fergus@parl.gc.ca, Francois-Philippe.Champagne@parl.gc.ca, Shaun.Chen@parl.gc.ca, Serge.Cormier@parl.gc.ca, rodger.cuzner@parl.gc.ca, Julie.Dabrusin@parl.gc.ca, Pam.Damoff@parl.gc.ca, Matt.DeCourcey@parl.gc.ca, Sukh.Dhaliwal@parl.gc.ca, Anju.Dhillon@parl.gc.ca, Nicola.Diiorio@parl.gc.ca, Francis.Drouin@parl.gc.ca, Emmanuel.Dubourg@parl.gc.ca, Bardish.Chagger@parl.gc.ca, Jean-Yves.Duclos@parl.gc.ca, Mark.Gerretsen@parl.gc.ca, Terry.Duguid@parl.gc.ca, kirsty.duncan@parl.gc.ca, Julie.Dzerowicz@parl.gc.ca, wayne.easter@parl.gc.ca, Ali.Ehsassi@parl.gc.ca, Faycal.El-Khoury@parl.gc.ca, Neil.Ellis@parl.gc.ca, Nathaniel.Erskine-Smith@parl.gc.ca, mark.eyking@parl.gc.ca, Doug.Eyolfson@parl.gc.ca, Andy.Fillmore@parl.gc.ca, Pat.Finnigan@parl.gc.ca, Darren.Fisher@parl.gc.ca, Peter.Fonseca@parl.gc.ca, Mona.Fortier@parl.gc.ca, Peter.Fragiskatos@parl.gc.ca, Colin.Fraser@parl.gc.ca, Sean.Fraser@parl.gc.ca, Chrystia.Freeland@parl.gc.ca, hedy.fry@parl.gc.ca, Stephen.Fuhr@parl.gc.ca, marc.garneau@parl.gc.ca, Pam.Goldsmith-Jones@parl.gc.ca, ralph.goodale@parl.gc.ca, David.Graham@parl.gc.ca, Raj.Grewal@parl.gc.ca, Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca, Ken.Hardie@parl.gc.ca, TJ.Harvey@parl.gc.ca, Richard.Hebert@parl.gc.ca, Kent.Hehr@parl.gc.ca, Gordie.Hogg@parl.gc.ca, Mark.Holland@parl.gc.ca, Anthony.Housefather@parl.gc.ca, Ahmed.Hussen@parl.gc.ca, Gudie.Hutchings@parl.gc.ca, Angelo.Iacono@parl.gc.ca, Melanie.Joly@parl.gc.ca, Yvonne.Jones@parl.gc.ca, Bernadette.Jordan@parl.gc.ca, Majid.Jowhari@parl.gc.ca, Iqra.Khalid@parl.gc.ca, Kamal.Khera@parl.gc.ca, Emmanuella.Lambropoulos@parl.gc.ca, David.Lametti@parl.gc.ca, kevin.lamoureux@parl.gc.ca, Linda.Lapointe@parl.gc.ca, Michael.Levitt@parl.gc.ca, Joel.Lightbound@parl.gc.ca, Alaina.Lockhart@parl.gc.ca, Wayne.Long@parl.gc.ca, Lloyd.Longfield@parl.gc.ca, Karen.Ludwig@parl.gc.ca, lawrence.macaulay@parl.gc.ca, Steven.MacKinnon@parl.gc.ca, James.Maloney@parl.gc.ca, Remi.Masse@parl.gc.ca, Bryan.May@parl.gc.ca, Karen.McCrimmon@parl.gc.ca, Ken.McDonald@parl.gc.ca, david.mcguinty@parl.gc.ca, john.mckay@parl.gc.ca, Catherine.McKenna@parl.gc.ca, Ron.McKinnon@parl.gc.ca, Michael.McLeod@parl.gc.ca, Alexandra.Mendes@parl.gc.ca, Marco.Mendicino@parl.gc.ca, MaryAnn.Mihychuk@parl.gc.ca, Marc.Miller@parl.gc.ca, Maryam.Monsef@parl.gc.ca, Bill.Morneau@parl.gc.ca, Robert.Morrissey@parl.gc.ca, joyce.murray@parl.gc.ca, Eva.Nassif@parl.gc.ca, Bob.Nault@parl.gc.ca, Mary.Ng@parl.gc.ca, Jennifer.OConnell@parl.gc.ca, Rob.Oliphant@parl.gc.ca, John.Oliver@parl.gc.ca, Denis.Paradis@parl.gc.ca, robert.falcon@parl.gc.ca, Seamus.ORegan@parl.gc.ca, Joe.Peschisolido@parl.gc.ca, Kyle.Peterson@parl.gc.ca, Ginette.PetitpasTaylor@parl.gc.ca, Jane.Philpott@parl.gc.ca, Michel.Picard@parl.gc.ca, Carla.Qualtrough@parl.gc.ca, Yasmin.Ratansi@parl.gc.ca, Jean.Rioux@parl.gc.ca, Jean.Rioux@parl.gc.ca, Yves.Robillard@parl.gc.ca, Pablo.Rodriguez@parl.gc.ca, Churence.Rogers@parl.gc.ca, Sherry.Romanado@parl.gc.ca, Anthony.Rota@parl.gc.ca, Kim.Rudd@parl.gc.ca, Dan.Ruimy@parl.gc.ca, Don.Rusnak@parl.gc.ca, Ruby.Sahota@parl.gc.ca, Raj.Saini@parl.gc.ca, Harjit.Sajjan@parl.gc.ca, Darrell.Samson@parl.gc.ca, Ramesh.Sangha@parl.gc.ca, Randeep.Sarai@parl.gc.ca, francis.scarpaleggia@parl.gc.ca, Peter.Schiefke@parl.gc.ca, Deb.Schulte@parl.gc.ca, Marc.Serre@parl.gc.ca, judy.sgro@parl.gc.ca, Brenda.Shanahan@parl.gc.ca, Terry.Sheehan@parl.gc.ca, Jati.Sidhu@parl.gc.ca, Sonia.Sidhu@parl.gc.ca, Gagan.Sikand@parl.gc.ca, scott.simms@parl.gc.ca, Amarjeet.Sohi@parl.gc.ca, Francesco.Sorbara@parl.gc.ca, Sven.Spengemann@parl.gc.ca, Marwan.Tabbara@parl.gc.ca, Geng.Tan@parl.gc.ca, Filomena.Tassi@parl.gc.ca, justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca, Dan.Vandal@parl.gc.ca, Anita.Vandenbeld@parl.gc.ca, Adam.Vaughan@parl.gc.ca, Arif.Virani@parl.gc.ca, Nick.Whalen@parl.gc.ca, Jonathan.Wilkinson@parl.gc.ca, Borys.Wrzesnewskyj@parl.gc.ca, Jean.Yip@parl.gc.ca, Kate.Young@parl.gc.ca, Salma.Zahid@parl.gc.ca, Jean-Claude.Poissant@parl.gc.ca, Jody.Wilson-Raybould@parl.gc.ca

For more information: 

read: Bill C-262
read: UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP)
https://www.kairoscanada.org/what-we-do/indigenous-rights/undrip-meet-with-your-mp 
https://mcccanada.ca/get-involved/advocacy/campaigns/why-support-bill-c-262-undrip-act

And should you care for a song, here’s my cover of an old Cockburn piece:

 

Top